TERMS OF REFERENCE

SHIRE OF NORTHAM ART COLLECTION COMMITTEE

1. Objectives of the Shire of Northam Art Collection Committee

The primary objective of the Shire of Northam Art Collection Committee is to make recommendations to Council and Chief Executive Officer on the composition of the Shire of Northam's Art Collection.

2. Powers of the Shire of Northam Art Collection Committee

The committee is a formally appointed committee of Council and is responsible to that body. The committee does not have executive powers or authority to implement actions in areas over which the CEO has legislative responsibility and does not have any delegated financial responsibility. The committee does not have any management functions and cannot involve itself in management processes or procedures.

The committee is to report to Council and provide appropriate advice and recommendations on matters relevant to its terms of reference in order to facilitate informed decision-making by Council in relation to the legislative functions and duties of the local government that have not been delegated to the CEO.

3. Membership

The committee shall consist of elected members, designated Shire of Northam employees and community members as follows:

- Three (3) Elected Members;
 - Cr Steven Pollard;
 - Cr Michael Ryan; and
 - Cr Julie Williams.
- Up to two (2) community representatives (to be invited by way of public advertisement).

All members have full voting rights.

4. Meetings

The committee shall meet as and when required.

Additional meetings shall be convened at the discretion of the presiding member.

5. Reporting

Minutes and recommendations of each committee meeting shall be presented to the next Ordinary Meeting of the Council.

6. Duties and Responsibilities

The duties and responsibilities of the Committee will be to make recommendations to Council in regard to:-

- Care of the collection;
- Recommend to Council suitable locations for the display of the Shire's collection;
- To make recommendation to Council in regard to the acquisition and/or disposal of works from the Shire's collection;
- Recommend Policy changes relating to the future direction of the collection.

7. Tenure of Membership

Shall be in accordance with the Local Government Act, section 5.11.

8. Committee

8.1 Chairperson

The members shall appoint the Chairperson.

8.2 Secretary

As appointed by the Executive Manager Community Services.

8.3 Quorum

The quorum at any meeting shall be half plus one of the number of officers. Therefore the number for a Quorum shall be four (4) voting members.

8.4 Voting

Shall be in accordance with the Local Government Act, Section 5.21

8.5 Minutes

Shall be in accordance with the Local Government Act, Section 5.22.

8.6 Who Acts If No Presiding Member

Shall be in accordance with the Local Government Act, Section 5.14.

8.7 Meetings

Meetings shall be generally open to the public pursuant to Section 5.23 of the Local Government Act and include question time for members of the pursuant to Section 5.24 of the Local Government Act.

8.8 Members Interests to be Disclosed

Members of the Committee are bound by the provisions of the Local Government Act Section 5.65 with respect to disclosure of financial, impartiality or proximity interests.

8.9 Code of Conduct

Members of the committee are bound by Council's Code of Conduct.