Skip to Content

Changes to Fire Danger Rating System

Published on Thursday, 1 September 2022 at 12:38:00 PM

Why is the system changing?
The existing Fire Danger Ratings are based on science that is over 60 years old, and only covers a third of Australia’s vegetation types. The new system incorporates 22 fuel types into 8 fire behaviour models, which are tailored to how fire moves in that vegetation. This more accurate modelling means more locally accurate predictions.
What does it mean for you?
A simplified but more locally relevant system that is consistent across the country. No matter where you go in Australia, the new Fire Danger Rating System remains the same, giving you clear recommended actions to prepare and protect your family at each level.
Where can I find Fire Danger Ratings?
Fire Danger Ratings, Total Fire Bans and warnings can be found on
Find more info:

Back to All News